SHEFFIELD CITY COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING – 7TH JULY 2021

ITEM 10 – CHANGES TO MEMBERSHIPS OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES ETC, APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES AND RELATED ISSUES

To (a)(i) note the impact on the allocation of seats on Council Committees of the new Governance Committee, established at the meeting of the Council on 16th June 2021, and comprising 11 seats, as appended to this report and (ii) approve the final adjustment of one seat (to be given up by the Liberal Democrat Group and allocated to the Labour Group) to ensure that each group has the required number of seats overall in comparison to the total number of seats available on all committees to reflect their composition on the Council as a whole, with that adjustment being to reverse the adjustment made at the annual meeting of the Council on 19th May 2021 on the Children, Young People and Family Support Scrutiny and Policy Development Committee;

(b) note that, in accordance with the authority given by the City Council at its annual meeting held on 19th May 2021, the Chief Executive had authorised the following appointment, with effect from the date shown:-

Local Government Association
General Assembly

Councillor Douglas Johnson to fill a vacancy, with effect from 22nd June 2021.

(c) approve the following changes to the memberships of Committees, Boards, etc.:-

Children, Young People and Family Support Scrutiny and Policy Development Committee Councillor Jack Scott to replace Councillor Kevin Oxley; and Councillor Vickie Priestley to replace Councillor Mike Levery.

Scrutiny Committee Substitute Members

Councillor Kevin Oxley to replace Councillor Joe Otten.

Our Council Transitional Committee

Councillor Bryan Lodge to fill a vacancy; creating a Transitional Committee Substitute (non-Executive) Member vacancy; and Councillor Colin Ross to replace Councillor Shaffag Mohammed.

Education, Health and Care Transitional Committee

 Councillor Kevin Oxley to replace Councillor Colin Ross.

Transitional Committee Substitute (non-Executive) Members

 Councillors Sue Alston, Sue Auckland, Tim Huggan, Barbara Masters and Richard Shaw to fill vacancies.

Licensing Committee	-	Councillor Ann Woolhouse to replace Councillor Mohammed Mahroof.						
Governance Committee	-	Councillors Sue Alston, Dawn Dale, Christine Gilligan, Mark Jones, Mike Levery, Mohammed Mahroof, Sioned-Mair Richards and Kaltum Rivers to fill vacancies.						
Access Liaison Group	-	Councillor Douglas Johnson to fill a vacancy.						
Allotments and Leisure Gardens Advisory Group	-	Councillor Angela Argenzio to fill a vacancy.						
(d) appoint representatives to serve on other bodies as follows:-								
South Yorkshire Pensions Authority	-	Councillor Garry Weatherall to replace Councillor Francyne Johnson.						
South Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel	-	Councillor Bryan Lodge to replace Councillor Garry Weatherall.						
Emergency Planning Shared Services Joint Committee	-	Councillor Douglas Johnson to fill a vacancy.						
Environment Agency – Yorkshire Regional Flood and Coastal Committee	-	Councillor Douglas Johnson to fill a vacancy.						
Migration Yorkshire (SY Sub-Regional Migration Group)	-	Councillor Alison Teal to replace Councillor Garry Weatherall.						
River Stewardship Company	-	Councillor Douglas Johnson to replace Councillor Garry Weatherall.						
Sheffield Business Adviser Panel	-	Councillor Paul Turpin to fill a vacancy.						
Sheffield Health and Social Care Foundation Trust - Council of Governors	-	Councillor Martin Phipps to fill a vacancy						
Sheffield Tobacco Control Programme Accountable Board	-	Councillor Alison Teal to fill a vacancy.						
Sheffield Waterways Strategy Group	-	Councillor Ruth Mersereau to fill a vacancy.						
Transport 4 All	-	Councillor Douglas Johnson to fill a vacancy.						

<u>Proportional Seat Allocations to Political Groups in 2021/22 – with the addition of the Governance Committee (and incorporating the adjustments agreed by the Council on 19th May 2021)</u>

Committee	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	Other	Total
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	6	4	2	0	12
CYP&FS Scrutiny Cttee	6 5	5 6	2	0	13
HC&ASC Scrutiny Cttee	6 5	5	2	0 1	13
Transitional Committee 1	5	3	2	0	10
Transitional Committee 2	5	3	2	0	10
Transitional Committee 3	5	3	2	0	10
Transitional Committee 4	5 4	3 4	2	0	10
Planning and Highways Cttee	6	5	2	0	13
Licensing Cttee	8	5	2 1	0 1	15
Governance Committee	5	4	2	0	11
Audit & Standards Cttee	4	2	1	0	7
Admissions Cttee	4	2	1	0	7
Senior Officer Employment Cttee	8	5	2	0	15
Appeals and Collective Disputes Cttee	8	5	2	0	15
Total Allocation	78	56	25	2	161
Overall Political Balance Requirement	79	55	25	2	161
Adjustments Required	+1	-1	0	0	

NB: Incorporation of the Governance Committee, with 11 seats, as approved at the meeting of the Council on 16th June 2021.

Total of 161 seats.

Labour	161 x 48.81%	=	78.584 (78)	+1	= 79
Liberal Democrat	161 x 34.52%		55.577 (55)		= 55
Greens	161 x 15.48%	=	24.92 (24)	+1	= 25
Other	161 x 1.19%	=	1.92 (1)	+1	= 2
			(158)		(161)

Adjustment Required to be Undertaken - the Lib Dem Group will need to release one seat on a Committee, to be allocated to the Labour Group. It is recommended that this be via reversing one of the adjustments already made from Labour to Lib Dem (e.g. CYPF Scrutiny or Transitional Committee 4).